How to Backup and Restore Chosen Items While on BES

You’ve spent time building up your Autotext entries to make it really easy to fire off a “thank you” or “you’re welcome.” You’ve invested time in building up your Password Keeper with entries for the Jonas Brothers Fan Club and you’ve got 50+ friends on your BlackBerry Messenger.  Life is good, especially because you’re on a BES and your contacts, calendars, tasks and notes are being synced back to the server. Now, a new OS pops up and you want to update. You get IT’s blessing to do this, but then you remember those parts of your BlackBerry that are going to be wiped out. When you plug your phone into your computer, fire up Desktop Manager and try to back up certain parts of your device, you get this:

Great. Well, you don’t have to worry about losing or having trouble restoring anything any more! I’ve got your back with a guide on how to select what you’d like to back up and what you’d like to restore, even on BES.  The first step is a tip that I uncovered from a forum post by Jibi.  Go to Options > Advanced Options > Enterprise Activation.  Scroll down below the PIN then hold the ALT key and type the letters CNFG to get to this screen:

You’ve made it to a secret spot, cool.  Go to “Wireless Sync,” switch it over to No.  Plug your BlackBerry into your computer, fire up the Desktop Manager and check out the video below.  I’ll walk you through the process I went through to back up AutoText, BlackBerry Messenger contacts, and Password Keeper.

Once you’ve backed up your selected items, completed your OS update or other change, restored the appropriate items, then restore your BES connection.  You can also restore your BES connection first, but you’ll have to turn off Wireless Sync like you did before.  If you have already restored your BES connection and turned off the Wireless Sync to restore some items, be sure to turn it back on after you’re done.

Would you like to continue the conversation?  Drop me a line in the comments or hop on to Twitter (find me at @nanpalmero) and let’s get it sorted out!

You can find Nan Palmero at SalesBy5 and his personal blog, too.

8 Responses to “How to Backup and Restore Chosen Items While on BES”


  1. 1 Josh

    On the storm go to the same place. Turn on the NUM Lock and key in 9!6/

  2. 2 Nan Palmero

    Josh, that’s great information. Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. 3 BlackBerryCool (BlackBerry Cool)

    How to Backup and Restore Chosen Items While on BES http://bit.ly/rHNb6

  4. 4 nanpalmero (Nan Palmero, MBA)

    RT @BlackBerryCool: How to Backup and Restore Chosen Items While on BES http://bit.ly/rHNb6

  5. 5 Adam

    Excellent write up. I never thought about doing it that way.

    This method works, but will initiate a “slow sync” with the server. A slow sync doesn’t hurt anything, but it will bring up the activation screen where you can see all of the service books coming back down again.

    Another way of doing this without initiating a slow sync is to go into Options - Advanced Options - Service Books, Highlight “Desktop[SYNC]” Click the menu button and choose Delete.

    You can now hook your device up to your PC and do the same backup/restore as instructed. When you are done, you can just go back in the Service Books(as stated above) hit the menu button and you will have an “undelete” option. Click that and you are done. :)

  6. 6 nan palmero

    Adam, that’s a great way to do it! Thank you for sharing, really smart stuff!

  7. 7 PDADoc

    I tried it exactly as described, but I seem to have run into a problem:

    As Adam had pointed out, it took about 20 minutes for my device to complete that slow sync, I received a message on my Bold that said the activation was completed, but my Desktop Manager is still “working” more than 10 minutes after the activation, so I can’t access any of the features at all.

    I’m afraid of simply disconnecting it, for fear that I might corrupt something either on the Desktop Manager or my device.

    Anyone else run into this? If so, can anyone think of a safe way to fix or at least terminate it? Thanks!

  8. 8 Adam

    If the device has completed the slow sync then it means that the service books are once again locked from being edited via desktop manager. It is safe to remove the device from USB.

Leave a Reply